#### TRAFFORD COUNCIL

**Executive** Report to: Date: 28 July 2014 **Decision** Report for:

Report of: **Chief Executive** 

# **Report Title**

# APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE TO OUTSIDE AND INDEPENDENT **BODIES**

#### **Summary**

To agree the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions.

### Recommendation(s)

- That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies set out in the Appendix to this report.
- 2. That the Chief Executive be delegated authority, in consultation with the Leader of the Council and Opposition Group Leader(s) if necessary, to appoint members to any outside body vacancy that remains or arises after the meeting and to any additional bodies to which the Executive may be required to make appointment(s).

# Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Ian Cockill Extension:

1387

Background Papers: None.

# TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

# REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

#### PERSONS NOMINATED – 2014/15

#### APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE

Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2014/15 Nominations
				Councillor(s)
1	Age UK (Trafford)	2	2:0:0	Dr. Karen Barclay John Lamb
2	Altrincham and Sale Chamber of Commerce	1 (plus 1 Deputy)	1:0:0	David Higgins Deputy: Michael Hyman
3	Bollin Valley Scheme Steering Committee	2 (plus 2 Deputies)	2:0:0	John Reilly Chris Candish Deputies: Michael Young Mrs. Patricia Young
4	Bridgewater Canal Trust	1	1:0:0	Rob Chilton
5	Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Paul Lally
6	Citizens' Advice Trafford	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans
7	Early Years and Childcare Advisory Forum	3	2:1:0	Miss Linda Blackburn Mrs. Lisa Cooke Jane Baugh
8	Greater Manchester Accessible Transport Ltd. – Ring and Ride Steering Group	1	1:0:0	Rob Chilton
9	Greater Manchester West Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust – Council of Governors (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell (until June 2017)
10	Groundwork, Manchester, Salford, Stockport, Tameside and Trafford	1 local authority Nominated Trustee	1:0:0	John Reilly
		plus		
		1 Company member	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell
11	Larkhill Centre Community Association – General Committee	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans
12	LGA - Urban Commission	2	2:0:0	Mrs Laura Evans Mrs. Viv Ward
13	LGA - Rural Commission	2 (either 2 Members or 1 Member & 1Officer)	2:0:0	Mrs. Viv Ward Bernard Sharp*  Nathan Evans  * has the Council's vote on the Commission

Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2014/15 Nominations	
		Nequiled	JOH.LAD.LD	Councillor(s)	
14	Local Strategic Partnership	2 (plus Chief Executive)	2:0:0	Sean Anstee John Lamb	
15	Manchester Airport Consultative Committee	3 (plus 1 Deputy)	2:1:0	Bernard Sharp Michael Whetton Phil Gratrix	
				Deputy: Nathan Evans	
16	Manchester South Valuation Tribunal – Local Appointment Panel	1 officer		Director of Legal and Democratic Services	
17	Mersey Valley Joint Committee	4 (plus 4 named Deputies)	3:1:0 (Agreed 2:2:0)	<ul><li>(i) Jonathan Coupe</li><li>(ii) Rob Chilton</li><li>(iii) Phil Gratrix</li><li>(iv) Mike Freeman</li></ul>	
				Named Deputies (for the above)	
				<ul><li>(i) Chris Boyes</li><li>(ii) Dan Bunting</li><li>(iii) Dolores O'Sullivan</li><li>(iv) Dave Jarman</li></ul>	
18	North West Cultural Consortium	1	1:0:0	Paul Lally	
19	North West Reserve Forces and Cadets Association (NWRFCA)	1	1:0:0	John Holden	
20	North West Sound Archive Committee Meeting	1	1:0:0	Paul Lally	
21	Parking and Traffic Regulations Outside London (PATROL) Adjudication Joint Committee / Bus Lane Adjudication Service Joint Committee	1 (plus 1 Deputy)	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell  Deputy: Mrs. Laura Evans	
22	Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Michael Young (until March 2017)	
23	Red Rose Forest Partnership	2	2:0:0	Rob Chilton John Reilly	
24	Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE)	7	4:3:0 (Agreed 3:3:1)	Rob Chilton Michael Cornes Bernard Sharp Judith Lloyd Dolores O'Sullivan Laurence Walsh R. Bowker	
25	Sale Town Centre Partnership	1	1:0:0	Brian Rigby	
26	Sharon Youth Association Management Committee	2	2:0:0 (Agreed 1:1:0)	Mrs. Lisa Cooke Ejaz Malik	
27	Stretford War Memorial Red Cross Public Nursing Services	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris	

Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2014/15 Nominations
28	Teachers Joint Negotiating Committee (Schools)	4 To be appointed as per the JNCConstitution	3:1:0  (Executive Members for Education, Children's Social Services, Chairman of the Employment Cttee and the Shadow Member for Education)	Mrs. Linda Blackburn Michael Cornes Brian Rigby Jane Baugh
29	Timperley Village Club - Management Committee	1 (plus 1 Non- Elected non- voting Member)	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans (Non-Elected Member – Mr.
				Andrew Iredale)
30	Trafford Arts Association	2	2:0:0	Chris Boyes Jonathan Coupe
31	Trafford Children and Young People's Services Strategic Partnership Board	2	2:0:0	Miss Linda Blackburn Michael Cornes
32	Trafford Community Leisure Trust	2	2:0:0	Jonathan Coupe Michael Whetton
33	Trafford Housing Trust Board	3 # proxy vote at AGM	2:1:0	Sean Anstee # John Lamb Joanne Bennett
34	Trafford Sports Council	2	2:0:0	Jonathan Coupe Michael Whetton
35	Trans-Pennine Trail	2	2:0:0	Rob Chilton Bernard Sharp
36	University of Manchester – General Assembly (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Dylan Butt (until 31 Aug 2014)
37	University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Chris Boyes (until Oct 2015)
	*Must not be a member of a local authority's scrutiny committee covering health matters			
38	Victim Support - Trafford (Management Committee)	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Lisa Cooke
39	Voluntary Community Action Trafford (VCAT)	2	2:0:0	Brian Shaw Mrs. Laura Evans

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2014/15 Nominations	
		Required	CON:LAB:LD	Councillor(s)	
	CHARITIES				
40	Ashton-on-Mersey Aid in Sickness Fund	2	2:0:0	Rob Chilton John Lamb	
41	The James Bradshaw Charity and the Bradshaw Educational and Richard Newton Foundations	3	2:1:0	Mrs. June Reilly Mrs. Viv Ward Mrs. Maureen Pickering	
				(3 year appointment until June 2017)	
42	Mayor's Land Charity; New Town Night School Fund; Lloyds Relief in Sickness	3 (Need not be Elected Members)	2:1:0 (The Mayor plus 2)	Dylan Butt John Holden Dolores O'Sullivan	
43	Frances Del Panno Trust	As set out		The Mayor Chief Executive & Director of Finance are ex-officio Trustees	
44	Sale Almshouses Trustees  Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	6 (Need not be Elected Members)	4:2:0	Chris Boyes Mrs. Pamela Dixon David Higgins Mr. David Hopps Barry Brotherton Phil Gratrix	
45	Sale Charities Management Cttee	As set out		The Chair (or Acting Chair) of the Whitelegg Almshouses, Sale Educational Foundation and Sale Almshouses Charities	
46	Sale Educational Foundation  Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	10 (Need not be Elected Members)	6:4:0	Mrs. Collinson Mrs. Gallimore David Higgins John Holden Brian Rigby Joanne Bennett Barry Brotherton Mike Freeman Andrew Western Mrs. D. Carter	
47	Whitelegg Almshouses – Committee of Management  Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	3	3:0:0	Rob Chilton Brian Rigby John Holden	